Dealing with a collision with an uninsured driver in Tennessee
Accidents can happen to even the most careful drivers. Even if you have comprehensive auto insurance, you obey all of the rules of the road and you never drink and drive, text and drive or get behind the wheel while you’re drowsy, you can still have the misfortune of being hit by an insured driver.
Being hit by an uninsured driver in Tennessee can cause a lot of stress. The minimum requirements for insurance are $50,000 coverage per accident and $25,000 per death or injury. However, it has been estimated that almost one quarter of Tennessee drivers have no insurance coverage.
What can I do if I have been involved in an accident with an uninsured driver?
After any accident, it is important that you contact the police so that they are aware of the incident. Doing this is vital for the safety of any passengers who have been injured. It can also help ensure that the correct process is followed in the aftermath of the crash, especially when one of the drivers is uninsured.
The law regarding fault in Tennessee car accidents
In Tennessee, fault can be attributed to one or multiple drivers. Your insurance company will likely conduct an investigation to establish fault. If one of the parties that is determined to be at-fault is uninsured, you may want to file a lawsuit in order to gain back the damages owed.
If you have been involved in a car crash with an uninsured driver in Tennessee, you should take early action to seek the compensation you need and deserve